Abby Hazekamp
Marketing Manager
(434) 234-8205

Jean Kwaterski, CASP, named 2019 winner of Newton Award

(November 15, 2019 | Charlottesville, VA) — NACAS is proud to announce the 2019 winner of the Robert F. Newton Award for Distinguished Service; Jean Kwaterski, CASP, Executive Director of Campus Life, University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh. The award was given at the C3X 2019 Annual Conference and Expo in Phoenix, Arizona.

“I have had the privilege of knowing Jean for a number of years and she is most deserving of the Newton Award,” said Kelsey Harmon Finn, NACAS CEO. “From her time on the Central Regional Board of Directors to her years on the NACAS National Board in the presidential track, she has shown care and concern for the overall organization and the individuals it serves. She is compassionate, thorough, and thoughtful in her work and relationships. Please join me in congratulating Jean with this honor.”

The Robert F. Newton Award for Distinguished Service is the most prestigious award recognizing an individual who has displayed extraordinary and outstanding service to NACAS and to the profession.

“I feel very honored to win this award! I was quite surprised to hear my name announced as the winner — I had no idea that I had been nominated,” said Kwaterski. “Over the years, I always make sure that I’m in the room when the Newton award winner is announced at the conference. I like to guess who the winner is and I love seeing how surprised they are! Little did I know, it was me this year!”

Kwaterski has been described by her peers as an individual who serves as a sounding board for members and is a strong advocate for NACAS and the auxiliary services profession at both the regional and international levels. She has always gone above and beyond for NACAS and the students she serves directly through her work in auxiliary services.

“I didn’t plan to work in auxiliaries as a college freshman — I don’t think anyone does! As I’ve worked on various campuses, I’ve grown to really enjoy working with students and providing services to help them be successful,” said Kwaterski. “I’ve worked with students to bring several building projects to fruition, helped them to define what services they needed, and in the process seen them grow into strong leaders who are ready to tackle the ‘real world.’ I’m a strong believer in higher education and I’m happy that I get to work in this field.”

Kwaterski started volunteering for NACAS in the Central region shortly after she joined the association in 2006. She served on a regional conference planning committee, then on the NACAS Central Board of Directors, and eventually became NACAS Central President. From there, it was a natural decision to join the NACAS Board of Directors as an At-Large member, culminating in her role as President of the Board in 2014.

“I have met so many people across the U.S. and Canada, many of whom I know I can call on to discuss ideas and concerns. It is such an invaluable network,” said Kwaterski. “I would strongly encourage other NACAS members to volunteer within the association. Not only will you meet people, but you will grow personally and professionally. I have gained a great deal of knowledge and experience by being involved in NACAS. This association could not function successfully without our volunteers. It’s a win-win situation!”

2019 Award Winners

David H. Lord Award for Exemplary Community Service
Michael McCarthy, Northern Essex Community College

Edwin R. Golden Award for Inclusive Excellence
Angela Agnello and the Faculty Student Association (FSA), Stony Brook University

Innovative Achievement in Auxiliary Services, sponsored by indiCo
Jude Kiah and Xavier University

Outstanding Business Partner of the Year Award
OnCampus Brands

Central Regional Mentor Award
Jean Kwaterski, CASP, University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh

Central Regional Rising Star Scholarship, Sponsored by The Spelman & Johnson Group
Angela Meldonian, University of Wisconsin – Whitewater

Central Region – Volunteer of the Year
Rhonda Laylo, University of Illinois at Chicago

East Regional Mentor Award
Peter North, CASP, Gettysburg College

East Regional Rising Star Scholarship, Sponsored by The Spelman & Johnson Group
Anthony Condo, CASP, Swarthmore College

East Region – Volunteer of the Year
Jerry Clemmer, CASP, University of Richmond

South Regional Mentor Award
Rebecca Brown, Florida A&M University

South Regional Rising Star Scholarship, Sponsored by The Spelman & Johnson Group
Millicent Parke, Georgia College & State University

South Region – Volunteer of the Year
Sherrell Cork, Florida State University

West Regional Mentor Award
Jill Coons, CASP, Fort Lewis College

West Regional Rising Star Scholarship, Sponsored by The Spelman & Johnson Group
Amber Grenhart, Fort Lewis College

West Region – Volunteer of the Year
Neil Markley, Sonoma State University

Silver Torch
Jill Coons, CASP, Fort Lewis College

Volunteer of the Year – National
Dan Dawson, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Wright L. Lassiter, Jr. Legacy Award
Phil Allison, United States Naval Academy

Robert F. Newton Award for Distinguished Service
Jean Kwaterski, CASP, University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh